Week 1 – “ There and back again” a Master Key Scholars Tale

I want to start by thanking you for your kindness and for taking the time to read my post. I do appreciate it.

Will it be all-right if I take a few minutes of your precious time to share with you the start of my Hero’s Journey or as Markj calls it “my Greatest Adventure”.

I have always loved adventure movies. I grew up with Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Star Trek and in the last few years my all-time favored The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings Trilogies.

It was only when I was guided to the Master Key Experience, my fellowship with the MKMMA Team and other scholars, that I really awakened to the reason why I loved adventure movies so much. Within the story line of each of them they all have a journey that dates back to the start of mankind and thankfully to the life’s work of Joseph Campbell I am able to play my part in sharing with you his discovery and life’s philosophy of the Hero’s Journey.

img_0404

I have been like most people I know living a life of quiet desperation and seeing my life as filled with strife and sorrow. I have been living my life in what Joseph Campbell calls the “known”, trapped in the comfort zone and being conformed to the thoughts of other people.

Then something happened and I received the call to the greatest adventure. I must be honest and admit that I have been receiving this call for may years, but I have been reluctant to answer the call. I have been reacting to the call consciously or unconsciously in the same way as Bilbo Baggins reacted when Gandalf called him to share in his great adventure.

For most of my life I wanted my life to be an adventure, to live my dreams, but I was not prepared to accept the conditions nor prepared to sign the contact. I was not prepared to accept the call to what Joseph Campbell calls the “unknown”. I have been paralyzed by fear and doubt while receiving the call to my adventure and I have been reacting in the same way as Bilbo Baggins reacted when he was handed the contact of his adventure.

I have been conformed by my failure mentality to such an extent that the my daily existence seemed filled with struggles. This caused me to procrastinate because I have been convincing myself that I am so tired of the same routine that I created, that I did not want to do anything about it.

Then I was asked the questions: “What about looking at life as a great adventure? When was the last time you went on an adventure? Have you ever been?” I was so conformed and comfortable with the routine of my every day living that when I received the call to the “unknown”, my PIF Scholarship as part of the Master Key Experience, I was looking for any reason not to accept. I argued by defending my decision and my life of quiet desperation in same way as Bilbo Baggins reacted when Gandalf requested him to make a decision.

This would have been the end, but when you are ready something happens that reveals the gold within you. You are awakened by your future self buried deep under all the cement accumulated through the years. You can not resist the call to discover your true self.

I woke up and accepted the conditions, signed the contact and took the first step out the door into the “unknown” on my Hero’s Journey. I have joined my fellow scholar’s on this adventure.

I am going on my greatest adventure into the unknown

10 thoughts on “Week 1 – “ There and back again” a Master Key Scholars Tale

    1. Master Key with Tobie Steyn 2016 Post author

      Hi Chiara, thank you for your kind words. I am so excited and honored that you are my guide on this amazing adventure. I am looking forward exploring the “unknown”. Thank you for all your support and encouragement.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

